Congratulations to Greg for winning February's Lude Of The Month, with his face-lift BA4 >>> Click Here For Profile <<<
Image

Hypertech Dyno Vids, Pics and Discussion

Events taking place in Scotland. Beware low flying haggis.
User avatar
Merlin
Moderator
Posts: 12032
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:04 am
My Generation: 5G
PSN GamerTag: Merlinbadman
Location: Edinburgh
Been thanked: 7 times

Post by Merlin » Tue Nov 26, 2013 12:23 pm

toyracer69 wrote:Maybe Vtec scared the dyno operator and so when the cars went into Vtec he then took his foot off the gas? :D

Would be nice to see any of the graphs.... :lol:

Me (2.2 SI VTEC):
Image

Newkid (2.2 SI VTEC):
Image

Macky (Type-S):
Image

Andy (S-SPEC):
Image

BMCC
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:32 am
My Generation: 5G

Post by BMCC » Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:11 pm

@ Merlin is your vtec change over higher approx 5800rpm?

User avatar
wurlycorner
Ye are glad to be dead, RIGHT?
Posts: 20340
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 3:33 pm
My Generation: 4G
Location: Chelmsford, Essex
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Post by wurlycorner » Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:14 pm

Is that the print outs they gave you, scanned in?
:?
They look like screen dumps from the live monitor, rather than pukka printed calculated graphs?


EDIT: Anyone searching google for "hypertech dyno" will get this thread as their 4th result... Wonder what that will do for them? :?

User avatar
Merlin
Moderator
Posts: 12032
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:04 am
My Generation: 5G
PSN GamerTag: Merlinbadman
Location: Edinburgh
Been thanked: 7 times

Post by Merlin » Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:22 pm

BMCC wrote:@ Merlin is your vtec change over higher approx 5800rpm?
My VTEC engages at 6.5K, tuned by Performance Autoworks.

wurlycorner wrote:Is that the print outs they gave you, scanned in?
:?
They look like screen dumps from the live monitor, rather than pukka printed calculated graphs?
Yup. We didn't get them printed either. They sent the lot to my email.

User avatar
wurlycorner
Ye are glad to be dead, RIGHT?
Posts: 20340
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 3:33 pm
My Generation: 4G
Location: Chelmsford, Essex
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Post by wurlycorner » Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:41 pm

My recollection from the National dyno, was that the scale on the live monitor wasn't 'accurate' (which would make sense on the basis that the dyno can't 'know' what limit it will need in each direction before the run is complete) and that after the live dyno run, they selected another screen which showed the corrected graph. :think: I'm sure the printed graph looked different to the one shown on the live screen, anyway?

:? Can anyone else recall any better than that? @Dino ?

(nb: Obviously that's a different dyno - it was a Maha - but would the principle not be the same??? :? )

User avatar
Merlin
Moderator
Posts: 12032
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:04 am
My Generation: 5G
PSN GamerTag: Merlinbadman
Location: Edinburgh
Been thanked: 7 times

Post by Merlin » Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:47 pm

I know what you are on about. There is always a corrected bhp figure on the bottom of the sheets.

Just add it to the number of reasons why this dyno sucks balls.

User avatar
wurlycorner
Ye are glad to be dead, RIGHT?
Posts: 20340
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 3:33 pm
My Generation: 4G
Location: Chelmsford, Essex
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Post by wurlycorner » Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:01 pm

:? sorry merlin, not saying things to have a dig at you :facepalm: :cry:

Just interested in understanding what's going on with what was metered out and exploring my own thoughts as I learn more about it :think:

Image

:lol:

BMCC
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:32 am
My Generation: 5G

Post by BMCC » Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:01 pm

@ 6500K the torque drops off and the power starts to flat line. Ok we are unsure about the dyno but if the curve is correct (although the figures may be low), I'd want to move the vtec point about (fueling? or maybe it is not getting enough air?) as it doesn't seem to be doing anything to your power or torque curves. The other all have a distinct jump when VTEC is engaged which is what I'd expect. I doesn't look like VTEC is doing anything for your car in that graph :(

User avatar
Merlin
Moderator
Posts: 12032
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:04 am
My Generation: 5G
PSN GamerTag: Merlinbadman
Location: Edinburgh
Been thanked: 7 times

Post by Merlin » Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:07 pm

Wurly, no foot in mouth from my point of view :D

BMCC - Remember my engine has been built and tuned to specifically not have a huge jump in torque. I get more torque at 3K than a stock H22 gets at peak torque. The torque dropping off is the issue I have been going on about with these dyno results. You can see torque dropping off just after VTEC in all the dyno graphs posted in this thread. Read the previous page of this thread.

BMCC
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:32 am
My Generation: 5G

Post by BMCC » Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:16 pm

Merlin wrote:BMCC - Remember my engine has been built and tuned to specifically not have a huge jump in torque. I get more torque at 3K than a stock H22 gets at peak torque. The torque dropping off is the issue I have been going on about with these dyno results. You can see torque dropping off just after VTEC in all the dyno graphs posted in this thread. Read the previous page.
Sure but at 6.5K when VTEC engages you get zero benefit.The graph from 6.5K to 8K gains practically nothing (BHP). I've read the other page and the torque part is noted but at least on the other graphs they get some BHP increase when VTEC comes on. The gradient of the graph changes showing a quicker rate of increase in power gain for all but yours when VTEC's on song. If your happy with that then fair enough, me I'd want to know why VTEC does the best part of bugger all.

Not looking to pick an argument Merlin just pointing out (If the graph is correct) that you might as well not have VTEC for all the good it does :( .

Post Reply

Return to “Scotland”