New DAB Double Din Stereo Cable Queries

To clarify - that's In Car Entertainment - not frozen water
User avatar
toadster
Posts: 1217
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:21 pm
My Generation: 5G
Location: Bedford
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

New DAB Double Din Stereo Cable Queries

Post by toadster » Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:52 pm

Lo :D
Thanks again for all Your help guy's.
Finished fitting today and grounded wire to radio chassis and it works a treat :mrgreen:
Only pain is stereo surround trim doesn't fit.
Was the same on My last double din.
Seems Lude stereo opening is non standard in the vertical direction.
Width is fine.
Cheers ;)
Toadster
Image

User avatar
uberNoobZA
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:49 pm
My Generation: 4G
Location: Oxford / Sanctuary / Azeroth
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 9 times

New DAB Double Din Stereo Cable Queries

Post by uberNoobZA » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:00 pm

Glad top hear it works. What do you mean stereo surround trim doesn't fit ? I've had a double DIN Pioneer headunit in both my Preludes (granted, they're both 4G ludes) and they fit fine, as shown below
Image

Could you attach a picture showing what you mean ?

User avatar
toadster
Posts: 1217
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:21 pm
My Generation: 5G
Location: Bedford
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

New DAB Double Din Stereo Cable Queries

Post by toadster » Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:42 pm

Lo :D
I will take a picture tomorrow.
Yours seems to stick out a bit mine is more flush.
The removable trim piece that comes with the stereo needs approximately 3-4mm trimming off top and bottom edges to fit in the recess.
Cheers ;)
Toadster
Image

User avatar
toadster
Posts: 1217
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:21 pm
My Generation: 5G
Location: Bedford
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

New DAB Double Din Stereo Cable Queries

Post by toadster » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:13 pm

Hi All :D
Here are some pics I took today to show My new double din stereo and it's trim issues :?
Pic showing stereo fitted and gap around it
Image
Pic showing stereo bezel surround that as you can see is too big vertically
Image
Pic showing stereo bezel surround from my old stereo that I cut down to fit
Image
Any 5th Genners had similar issues :?:
Cheers ;)
Toadster
Image

User avatar
uberNoobZA
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:49 pm
My Generation: 4G
Location: Oxford / Sanctuary / Azeroth
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 9 times

New DAB Double Din Stereo Cable Queries

Post by uberNoobZA » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:45 pm

Ah right, I see what you mean. Dunno, but maybe on the 5G the stereo is supposed to stick out further to get the bezel to fit. Seems silly though

User avatar
toadster
Posts: 1217
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:21 pm
My Generation: 5G
Location: Bedford
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

New DAB Double Din Stereo Cable Queries

Post by toadster » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:54 pm

LO :D
When I fitted the first double din it still had the original 97 radio in it.
I removed the outer cage with the new stereo and bolted the two exixting brakets to the sides.
I have fitted the latest one in the same way which is prob the wrong way :?:
To remove the stereo you have to remove 4 screws and pull out the release keys wont work as I havent used the outer cage supplied.
I'm guessing this isn't the standard way to install one but I like the more flush look :mrgreen:
Cheers ;)
toadster
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Electrical / Lights / ICE”