Congratulations to Greg for winning February's Lude Of The Month, with his face-lift BA4 >>> Click Here For Profile <<<
Image

How to adjust brake and clutch pedal sensors

As much of the Lude knowledge we have in one handy place
Post Reply
User avatar
Merlin
Moderator
Posts: 12032
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:04 am
My Generation: 5G
PSN GamerTag: Merlinbadman
Location: Edinburgh
Been thanked: 7 times

How to adjust brake and clutch pedal sensors

Post by Merlin » Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:09 pm

I had to adust my brake pedal sensor to cure a crusie control problem.


On both pedals there is a sensor.
Image

1. Disconnect the sensor wiring.

2. Use a 14mm spanner to slacken the nut.

3. Rotate the senor to get it to the desired position, tighten the nut and reconnect the wiring.

User avatar
Sailor
Supporter 2016
Posts: 3062
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:36 pm
My Generation: 5G
Location: Hampshire
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Post by Sailor » Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:02 am

I'm surprised you have to disconnect the plug. Is the system smart enough to reset on re-connection or something?

Mind you, I didn't know these sensors existed: I'd never thought about them. It makes sense: use the pedals and the cruise control switches off. Is it just an in-line micro-switch?
International Pensioner of Mystery

User avatar
Vtecmec
LotM Winner
Posts: 4603
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:43 pm
My Generation: 4G
XBOX GamerTag: vtecmec
Location: East Midlands
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 26 times

Post by Vtecmec » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:15 am

They are just ordinary push button switches, with the system looking for an earth via each, when you press the pedal, the earth is cut and the system turns off.

User avatar
Merlin
Moderator
Posts: 12032
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:04 am
My Generation: 5G
PSN GamerTag: Merlinbadman
Location: Edinburgh
Been thanked: 7 times

Post by Merlin » Sun Apr 06, 2014 8:46 pm

By disconnecting the plug you dont twist the wring while adjusting the sensor ;)

User avatar
JDM-BB4
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:03 am
My Generation: 4G
PSN GamerTag: JDM-BB4
Location: Stirling, Scotland

Post by JDM-BB4 » Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:43 am

This gives me somewhere to start as I discovered the cc on the 5th gen isn't working.

Is the button on the rhs of the dash supposed to light up or stay depressed when pushed before setting the speed? Mine does neither.
Image
Prelude history: black bb4, silver bb4, green bb8, project eX, JRSC 5th gen Motegi.

Current rides: Honda s2000 GT & Honda Accord type R

newkid
Supporter 2016
Posts: 2573
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:28 pm
My Generation: 4G
PSN GamerTag: spaz_ma_taz
Location: Edinburgh
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Post by newkid » Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:45 am

Should light up from memory bud

User avatar
wurlycorner
Ye are glad to be dead, RIGHT?
Posts: 20340
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 3:33 pm
My Generation: 4G
Location: Chelmsford, Essex
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Post by wurlycorner » Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:11 am

There's a green light on it that should light up.
:facepalm: can't remember if it's meant to stay depressed as well :roll:

User avatar
NCCMUR
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:14 am
My Generation: 5G
XBOX GamerTag: NCCMUR
Location: Stirling,Scotland
Has thanked: 1 time

Post by NCCMUR » Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:19 am

The cc master switch stays depressed and lights up
then set as normal
i had to adjust the switch on the clutch pedal to get mine working
exactly the same procedure as merlins guide
bristol_bb4 wrote: turn the volume up and get your happy time tissues ready :lol:
Kevin Bridges wrote: How did a didnae!!
Image
NCCMUR's 1997 VTI

Adrianh22
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:23 pm
My Generation: 5G

Post by Adrianh22 » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:25 am

My cruise control packed up about a month ago can anyone send a pic of the switches that need to be adjusted as I will give that a go

Post Reply

Return to “Guides / How to's / Tech Section”